Login   |   Register   

Powder Metallurgy Design Excellence Awards

Each year since 1965, MPIF has sponsored an awards competition in which parts fabricators among our member companies are invited to submit components that epitomize the possibilities inherent in this metal-forming technology. A distinguished panel of industry judges evaluates the entries according to a stringent set of criteria and awards Grand Prizes and Awards of Distinction to those powder metallurgy parts deemed worthy.

The awards are presented each year at a luncheon during the annual technical conference and details about the winning parts appear in many publications over the next year, giving added exposure to these achievements in PM design while honoring the fabricators and end users responsible for them.

2024 Design Excellence Awards Announced


The Metal Powder Industries Federation (MPIF) is proud to celebrate its 60th year of the Powder Metallurgy (PM) Design Excellence Award Competition program. We are excited to showcase our MPIF member PM parts fabricators whose submissions demonstrate the advantages of PM. The winning parts will be on display in the Exhibit Hall, following the Awards Luncheon.

The competition is judged by the three major technology categories:

  • conventional press & sinter powder metallurgy
  • metal injection molding
  • metal additive manufacturing

A distinguished panel of industry judges selected Grand Prizes and Awards of Distinction for those PM parts deemed worthy of recognition in the following market segments:

  • Automotive:
    • Engine
    • Transmission
    • Chassis
    • Electric Vehicle
  • Aerospace
  • Military/Firearms
  • Lawn & Garden/Off-Highway (includes ATVs)
  • Hand Tool/Recreation (includes motorcycles)
  • Industrial Motors/Controls & Hydraulics
  • Hardware/Appliances
  • Medical/Dental
  • Electronic/Electrical


Grand Prize recipients of the 2024 Design Excellence Awards Competition


Awards of Distinction of the 2024 Design Excellence Awards Competition



Award-Winning Parts Gallery

Use the dropdowns below to explore award-winning components from the last several decades.