Login   |   Register   
Join Our Mailing List to keep up-to-date on the PM industry

APMI International Names 2019 Fellows

APMI International's most prestigious award recognizes APMI members for their significant contributions to the goals, purpose, and mission of the organization as well as for a high level of expertise in the technology, practice, or business of the industry. The 2019 Fellow Award recipients will receive elevation to Fellow status at POWDERMET2019: International Conference on Powder Metallurgy & Particulate Materials during the Industry Luncheon on Tuesday, June 25. The 2019 recipients are Joseph Tunick Strauss and John L. Johnson.

Joseph Tunick StraussJoseph Tunick Strauss

For more than three decades, Joseph Tunick Strauss, engineer/president, HJE Company, has strived to advance the powder metallurgy (PM) industry through engineering and ingenuity. He was the first to commercially offer turn-key small-scale high-performance gas atomizers and publish on the use of elevated temperature gas for atomization. Strauss formally introduced PM to the jewelry industry and continues to develop press-and-sinter and metal injection molding (MIM) technologies for them. He helped unite the PM and additive manufacturing (AM) communities and assisted in the formation of the AMPM conference. Strauss is a member of many professional technical societies, has served on the APMI Board of Directors, and has been on the Metal Powder Industries Federation (MPIF) Conference Committee for many years. He has received many awards including the MPIF Distinguished Service award in 2013. Strauss reviews technical articles for several technical publications including the International Journal of Powder Metallurgy.

John L. JohnsonJohn L. Johnson

John L. Johnson, vice president, Elmet Technologies, has dedicated over 20 years to research and development of processes and products for the PM industry, including pioneering rapid prototyping of metals via selective laser sintering for desktop manufacturing. He has authored or coauthored more than 100 technical papers and, as an editorial committee member, reviewed over 200 technical articles for various technical journals including the International Journal of Powder Metallurgy. Johnson has served on many committees and association boards including the APMI Board of Directors and the MPIF Technical Board. He has been a co-chairman of the Tungsten, Refractory and Hard Materials Conference and continues to organize numerous Special Interest Programs for the annual POWDERMET conferences. While wrapping up his Ph.D. at The Pennsylvania State University, Johnson was a recipient of the 1993 CPMT/Axel Madsen Conference Grant in the early years of the program. Established in 1998, the Fellow Award recognizes APMI members for their significant contributions to the society and high level of expertise in the technology of powder metallurgy, practice, or business of the PM industry. Fellows are elected through their professional, technical and scientific achievements, continuing professional growth and development, mentoring/outreach, and contributions to APMI International committees.

# # #

Editor’s Note: For further information contact Turner Abbott by email or call (609)452-7700.

About APMI International
APMI International is a non-profit professional society which promotes the advancement of powder metallurgy and particulate materials as a science. Its purpose is to disseminate and exchange information about PM and particulate materials through publications, conferences, and other activities of the society.

Previous Article New Publication: A Collection of Powder Characterization Standards for Metal Additive Manufacturing
Next Article Hybrid Manufacturing Machine Ready to Build

Documents to download