Login   |   Register   
Join Our Mailing List to keep up-to-date on the PM industry

APMI International Names 2018 Fellows

APMI International's most prestigious award recognizes APMI members for their significant contributions to the goals, purpose, and mission of the organization as well as for a high level of expertise in the technology, practice, or business of the industry. The 2018 Fellow Award recipients will receive elevation to Fellow status at POWDERMET2018: International Conference on Powder Metallurgy & Particulate Materials during the Industry Luncheon on June 19. The 2018 recipients are Stephen Mashl and Alberto Molinari.

Stephen Mashl

Stephen Mashl, Michigan Technological University, research professor of materials science and engineering, has dedicated over three decades to the powder metallurgy (PM) industry, working primarily in particulate materials and PM product and processes development. Most of his career has been in industry during which time he has developed process simulation models, worked to identify particle formation mechanisms, and developed an integrated hot isostatic press (HIP) plus solution heat treat process for the treatment of aluminum castings. He is co-inventor on several patents, his research appears in over 50 papers and publications, and he has served as technical reviewer for multiple journals. An APMI member for 30 years, Mashl has served as president of the Advanced Particulate Materials Association and as a director of the Isostatic Pressing Association. He is a past member of the Metal Powder Industries Federation (MPIF) Board of Governors and a Fellow of ASM International.

Alberto Molinari

Alberto Molinari, University of Trento, professor of metallurgy, is one of the most active PM technology professors in the world. His 35 years of research, including 15 years as an APMI International member, has led to 500 published papers in international and national journals, as well as in conference proceedings mostly on PM subjects. He serves on the International Liaison committee for the International Journal of Powder Metallurgy. He has contributed to the development of some low-alloy powders as well as the optimization of several industrial processes. He has done extensive scientific work on three main subjects: high-energy milling and sintering of powders to produce nanostructured materials; deformation and fracture behavior of porous materials; and wear mechanisms of porous materials. In addition, he is developing a modified theory of sintering, accounting for the effect of the prior uniaxial compaction of the parts, and is working on the experimental determination of the constitutive models of the metallic powders when uniaxially cold compacted.

Established in 1998, the Fellow Award recognizes APMI members for their significant contributions to the society and high level of expertise in the technology of powder metallurgy, practice, or business of the PM industry. Fellows are elected through their professional, technical and scientific achievements, continuing professional growth and development, mentoring/outreach, and contributions to APMI International committees

Editor’s Note: For further information contact Turner Abbot at tabbott@mpif.org or (609) 452-7700.

About APMI International 
APMI International is a non-profit professional society which promotes the advancement of powder metallurgy and particulate materials as a science. Its purpose is to disseminate and exchange information about PM and particulate materials through publications, conferences, and other activities of the society.

Previous Article AM Permanent Magnets for Electric Motors
Next Article PM Champion to Receive Award for Helping Advance Technology Applications