Login   |   Register   
Join Our Mailing List to keep up-to-date on the PM industry

Kempton H. Roll PM Lifetime Achievement Award: Thomas F. Murphy, FAPMI

Thomas F. Murphy, FAPMI, Senior Scientist, Research and Development, Hoeganaes Corporation, has been selected to receive the Kempton H. Roll Powder Metallurgy (PM) Lifetime Achievement Award by the Metal Powder Industries Federation (MPIF). The award will be presented during the combined PowderMet2024 (International Conference on Powder Metallurgy & Particulate Materials) and AMPM2024 (Additive Manufacturing with Powder Metallurgy) conferences, in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, during the Opening General Session on Monday, June 17.

Murphy is one of the few recognized experts in the field of ferrous PM microscopy throughout the world. He has been instrumental in developing sample preparation, characterization methods, and testing for both metal powders and PM components. He continues to perform a vital role in educating the industry about the effects of microstructure on the entire PM process. More recently, his research efforts have expanded to include the effects of microstructure with the additive manufacturing process.

Murphy organized and coordinated the APMI International (APMI) PM Metallography Competition (1989-2008), Excellence in Metallography Awards (2009-present), and has served on the Board of Directors for the International Metallographic Society (IMS), where he has been active as a judge for the IMS Metallography Contest. He received the MPIF Distinguished Service to Powder Metallurgy Award in 2005 and APMI Fellow Award in 2007. 

Murphy has been an enthusiastic member of the MPIF Technical Conference Program Committee since 1990, co-chaired PowderMet2007, assisted with the development of the online Guide to PM Microstructures, and is a longtime instructor at several MPIF seminars and courses. He is a member of the APMI International Journal of Powder Metallurgy Editorial Review Committee.

Murphy has authored/co-authored over 75 technical publications, including four MPIF Outstanding Technical Papers. Several of the publications can be considered as guidebooks to proper sample preparation, etching, and analysis techniques. He was an adjunct faculty member of the Drexel University Evening College from 1983-1990.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, named in honor of Kempton H. Roll, founding executive director of MPIF, was established in 2007 to recognize individuals with outstanding accomplishments and achievements who have devoted their careers and a lifetime of involvement in the field of PM and related technologies. This will only be the fifth time the award has been given since its inception.

# # #

Editor's Note: For further information contact Dora Schember at dschember@mpif.org  

About the Metal Powder Industries Federation Metal Powder Industries Federation is the North American trade association formed by the powder metallurgy industry to advance the interests of the metal powder producing and consuming industries and provides a single point of reference for all MPIF member companies.

Previous Article Metal Powder Industries Federation Elects New Officers
Next Article APMI International Names 2024 Fellow
Please login or register to post comments.