Metal Powder Industries Federation

Metal Powder Society Names Fellows

APMI International, professional society for the powder metallurgy (PM) industry, has named Nicholas T. Mares, Vice President of Marketing, Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc., and José M. Torralba, Professor, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, to the 2015 Class of Fellows. They will receive the award during the POWDERMET2015 Conference in San Diego, CA.

Nicholas T. Mares, Vice President of Marketing, Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc., has been an APMI member for over 25 years. With nearly 35 years in the PM industry, Mares has demonstrated a tireless commitment to advancing PM technology throughout his career, domestically and internationally. He received his BS in business: management & marketing from the University of Detroit, Mercy. Although his educational training is in business, he has worked diligently with the industry to refine its needs for graphite, nanographite, and coatings for carbon trays.

Mares is extremely active, representing APMI on the MPIF Technical Board; is in his 10th year as annual APMI Golf Tournament Chairman; and chairs the annual POWDERMET conference's Poster Committee. He is a past-president of APMI, former director of the Metal Powder Producers Association, and co-chairman of PowderMet2012. Mares received the MPIF Distinguished Service to Powder Metallurgy Award in 2013.

José M. Torralba, professor, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, is considered one of the leading experts in the European powder metallurgy field. Having graduated over 20 PhD students, and currently leading a research group of 28, he is easily identified as a scientist and academic lecturer. A member of APMI for nearly 20 of his 30+ year professional career, Torralba has been active spreading the PM word.

Torralba received two PhD's in engineering, one with a thesis on PM from the Technical University of Madrid, Spain-UPM, and the other with a thesis on ceramics from the School of Engineering of the Spanish Army, Escuela Politécnica Superior del Ejército-EPSE. He has published over 350 conference technical papers, 200 science papers on the web, and has 8 patents.

Torralba is a long-time member of the APMI's International Journal of Powder Metallurgy International Liaison Committee; coordinates the EPMA PM Summer School; was co-organizer of the PM'98 World Congress; and was the architect of the Höganäs Chair in Powder Metallurgy that commenced in 1999. He is also a proponent of growing PM in Latin America, where he often lectures.

Established in 1998, the Fellow Award recognizes APMI members for their significant contributions to the society and high level of expertise in the technology of powder metallurgy, practice, or business of the PM industry. Fellows are elected through their professional, technical and scientific achievements, continuing professional growth and development, mentoring/outreach, and contributions to APMI International committees.

Download the full pdf

Green logo